IEEE

IEEE Germany Section History

SHARE |

From GHN

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Establishment of the Section)
(Membership)
Line 43: Line 43:
 
== Membership ==
 
== Membership ==
  
The IEEE Germany Section covers the area of the Federal Republic of Germany and has currently more than 5.600 active members in 2009.
+
The IEEE Germany Section covers the area of the Federal Republic of Germany and has currently more than 7.400 members in 2011, including student members and affiliats.
 
<br><br>
 
<br><br>
 
[[File:Membership_developement.jpg]]
 
[[File:Membership_developement.jpg]]

Revision as of 15:23, 13 February 2012

Are you a member of this section? Please help expand the article by using the edit tab....

Link to Section Homepage

Contents

Establishment of the Section

The IEEE Germany Section has been formed on 12th of July 1963, in the same year in which IEEE was ascending from the merger of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE founded in 1884) and the Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE, founded in 1912).

Zertifikat IEEE
Zertifikat IEEE

The inauguration meeting in Germany was held on 6.4.64 in the "Künstlerhaus" in Munich. Twentyfour attending IEEE members elected the members of the first IEEE Germany Section EXCOM consisting of

Chairman Dr.-Ing Dr.-Ing. hc L. Rohde (Rohde & Schwarz, Munich) IEEE, VDE, NTG,

Vice Chairman Prof. Dr.Phil Fränz (Telefunken, Ulm)IEEE, VDE, NTG,

Secretary Dr.-Ing. H.H. Burghoff (VDE.NTG, Frankfurt)IEEE ,VDE, NTG,

Treasurer Dr.Techn J. Berghammer (Siemens, Munich)IEEE, VDE, NTG,

Assessor Prof. Dr phil nat. H.H. Meinke (Univ. of Munich)IEEE, VDE, NTG,

Assessor Dr.-Ing. Jacottet (VDE,NTG, Frankfurt).

The EXCOM agreed unanimously on a friendly mutual cooperation with the existing National Societies VDE and ITG for the benefit of Electrical Engineering in Germany and the EE Community world wide.

List of Section Chairs

  • Lothar Rohde 1963/1969
  • Prof. Kurt O. Fraenz 1970/1972
  • Prof. Werner Kleen 1973/1978
  • Walter Proebster 1979/___
  • Prof.H.J. Schmitt ___/___
  • Hugo Ruechardt ___/___
  • Prof. Rudolf Saal 1981/1987
  • Prof.Dr. Adolf Schwab 1988/1996
  • Prof.Dr. Rolf Jansen 1997/1999
  • Prof.Dr.Hans Hartnagel 2000/2002
  • Prof.Dr. Adolf Schwab 2003/2006
  • Dr. Andreas Luxa 2007/2010
  • Dr. Axel Richter 2011

Membership

The IEEE Germany Section covers the area of the Federal Republic of Germany and has currently more than 7.400 members in 2011, including student members and affiliats.

Membership developement.jpg



 

Student Branches

IEEE Student Branches exist at the Universities:

University Chair Counselor
Aachen Marco Stieneker Univ.-Prof. Dr. ir. Rik DeDoncker
Bielefeld Arne Ellerbrock Prof. Dr. Jens Haubrock
Bochum Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christof Paar
Bonn i.G. Alexander Willner Prof. Peter Martini
Duisburg-Essen Jan Förster Prof. Dr. Daniel Erni
Hamburg-Harburg Adwait-Remy Vaidya Prof. Dr. Hermann Rohling
Hannover Evgeni Genender Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heyno Garbe
Ilmenau Steffen Schlegel Prof. Martin Haardt
Karlsruhe Ralph Tanbourgi Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Becker
Magdeburg Marcel Benecke Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Lindemann
München Arne Redl Prof. Eckehard Steinbach
Passau Robert Hofmann Prof. Dr. Harald Kosch
Stuttgart Stefan Heck Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Berroth


 

*Conferences

  • Milestones
  • Awards
  • XXXXXX

Chapters

Chapter (Society) Chair e-mail
Computer Prof. Jörg Henkel henkel@informatik.uni-karlsruhe.de
Circuits and Systems Prof. Wolfgang Mathis mathis@tet.uni-hannover.de
Consumer Electronics Prof. Dr. Hans Cycon hcycon@ieee.org
Computational Intelligence Prof. Andreas König koenig@eit.uni-kl.de
Communications Prof. Hermann Rohling rohling@tu-harburg.de
Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Dr.-Ing. Dr. sc. Klaus-Dieter Lang Klaus-Dieter.Lang@izm.fraunhofer.de
Education Society Dr. Fanny Klett fanny.klett@tu-ilmenau.de
Electron Devices Society Prof. Dr. Joachim Burghartz burghartz@ims-chips.de
Engineering in Medicine Prof. Dr. rer. phys. Thomas Penzel Thomas.penzel@charite.de
Electromagnetic Compatibility Dr. Frank Sabath Frank.Sabath@ieee.org
Geoscience & Remote Sensing Prof. Dr. Irena Hajnsek irena.hajnsek@dlr.de
Joint Industry Applications / Power Electronics / Industrial Electronics Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Mertens mertens@ial.uni-Hannover.de
Instrumentation and Measurement Prof. Dr.-Ing. Olfa Kanoun kanoun@ieee.org
Information Theory Prof. Holger Boche boche@tum.de
Photonics Society, formerly Lasers and Electro-Optics Prof. Dieter Jäger dieter.jaeger@uni-due.de
Magnetics Dr. Jürgen Fassbender J.Fassbender@fzd.de
Microwave Theory and Techniques / Antennas and Propagation Prof. Dr.-Ing. Georg Böck boeck@tu-berlin.de
Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Prof. Dr. Klaus Frank klaus.frank@physik.unierlangen.de
Power & Energy Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfram H. Wellßow wellssow@eit.uni-kl.de
Robotics and Automation Prof. Rüdiger Dillmann dillmann@ira.uka.de
Systems, Man and Cybernetics (closed 2011) -------------- --------------
Signal Processing Prof. Udo Zölzer udo.zoelzer@hsu-hamburg.de
Solid State Circuits Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Blume blume@ims.uni-hannover.de
Technology Management Council Klaus-Dieter Heerklotz klaus-dieter.heerklotz@siemens.de
Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control Prof. Dr.-Ing. Georg Schmitz georg.schmitz@rub.de


 

Section Officers


 

 

Executive Committee Team 2011


Officer Name e-mail
Chairman Dr.-Ing. Axel Richter axel.richter@ieee.org
Vice Chairman Dr.-Ing. Toni Göller toni.goeller@mincom.de
Treasurer Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ralph M. Kennel kennel@ieee.org
Secretary Dr.-Ing. Volker Schanz ieee@vde.com
Senior Past Chairman Prof. Dr.-Ing. Adolf Schwab a.schwab@ieee.org
Junior Past Chairman Dr.-Ing. Andreas Luxa Andreas.luxa@siemens.com
Awards/Fellows Officer -------- --------
Chapter Coordinator Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ingo Hahn ingo.hahn@ieee.org
Electronic Communications Officer Stephan Wagner stephan.wagner@ieee.org
Chairman Membership Development R8 -------- --------
GOLD Coordinator Andreas Neumeier andreas@neumeier.org
Industry Relation Officer Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dirk Westermann fg-eev@tu-ilmenau.de
Membership Data Admin. Matthias Kneissl matthias.kneissl@mkneissl.de
Membership Development Prof. Dr. Jens Haubrock jens.haubrock@fh-bielefeld.de
Public Relations Officer Manuel Kennel manuel.kennel@ieee.org
HQ Relations Officer Gerald Anleitner g.anleitner@ieee.org
Student Branch Coordinator Martin Stötzer stoetzer@ieee.org
WIE Coordinator Dr. Tiziana Bertoncelli bertonce@ge.com
ExCom Team Bielefeld 2011
ExCom Team Bielefeld 2011

Relationship between IEEE Section and National Engineering Society VDE

From the very beginning of the IEEE Germany Section the National Society VDE was considered a powerful peer partner in achieving IEEE`s goals in Region 8. The secretary of the IEEE Section Excom always has been a VDE staff member. Apart from minor different points of view regarding confrence scheduling, cooperation was always beneficial for both parties. In 199X, the benevolent relationship was formally documented by a cooperation agreement defining the most important issues where mutual understanding and joint action was highly desirable. This cooperation agreement is still alive today, both societies enjoy the many synergies.


IEEE Geographic Unit Organizing Document - Germany


Membership developement.jpg