IEEE
You are not logged in, please sign in to edit > Log in / create account  

Singapore 2000: Promoting the History of EE

From GHN

Revision as of 21:27, 2 February 2010 by Nbrewer (Talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

An Overview

Logistics:

  • 24-26 January 2000 (Monday-Wednesday)
  • 3-day meeting, organized by IEEE History Center, as a follow-up to Maui meeting, organized by IEEJ History Committee, held in December 1995
  • Held in conjunction with PES Winter Power Meeting, Singapore, 23-27 January 2000

Attendance:

  • Engineers and historians from Japan, Canada, United Kingdom, United States, New Zealand, Korea and Singapore.
  • Engineers also invited from Indonesia, Australia, China, South Africa and the Philippines.
  • Select members of the IEEE History Committee and Staff from the IEEE History Center.
  • Anticipated attendance of ~20 individuals at the Workshop.

Day 1: Monday, 24 January

  • Singapore 2000 Workshop (conference style) 8:00am – 4:00pm
  • Topics: archives, oral history, Milestones, museums, biographies, other historical activities
  • Speakers from IEEE, IEEJ and other organizations

Day 2: Tuesday, 25 January

  • Commemorative Session for the Winter Power Meeting, 9:00-11:00
  • Theme: The International Legacy of the Electrical Engineer
  • Open to all attendees of PES meeting
  • Singapore 2000 Workshop 8:00-8:45 (lunch), resume 11:10 - 4:00

Day 3: Wednesday, 26 January

  • Historical Session as part of PES Meeting 9:00-12:00
  • Afternoon outing 1:30pm-4:30pm (Singapore Discovery Centre)

Attendees

Arakawa, Fumio, Senior Engineer, PS Electric Power Development Company den04343@epdc.co.jp

Arrillaga, Jos, Professor University of Canterbury arrillj@elec.canterbury.ac.nz

Chew, Yong Tian, Professor Graduate Studies Office, Faculty of Engineering, National University of Singapore, Singapore engcyt@nus.edu.sg

Finn, Bernard (Barney), Curator National Museum of American History Smithsonian Institution finnb@nmah.si.edu

Geselowitz, Michael N., Staff Director IEEE History Center, Rutgers University m.geselowitz@ieee.org

Hohki, Keiichi, General Manager, Tokyo Electric Power Company T0447821@pmail.tepco.co.jp

Liu, Chen-Ching, Professor University of Washington liu@maxwell.ee.washington.edu

Nagata, Takayuki, Engineering Planning and Coordination Division, NEC Corporation nagata@epc.ho.nec.co.jp

Nam, Moon-Hyan (Monroe), Professor Department of Electrical Engineering, Konkuk University Seoul, Korea monroe@kkucc.konkuk.sc.kr

Nebeker, Frederik (Rik), Senior Research Historian IEEE History Center f.nebeker@ieee.org

Okita, Yuji, General Manager Kyushu System Center Fukuoka City, Japan yuji.okita@tg-mail.toshiba.co.jp

Pugh, Emerson, President, IEEE Foundation e.pugh@ieee.org

Read, Wallace, Past President IEEE w.read@ieee.org

Sloan, Martha, ECE Department Michigan Technological University m.sloan@ieee.org

Suematsu, Yasuharu, President and Professor Kochi University of Technology suematsu@hq.kochi-tech.ac.jp

Suzuki, Hiroshi, General Manager Power System & Transmission Engineering Center Mitsubishi Electric Corp. hsuzuki@hon.melco.co.jp

Symons, Lenore, Curator Institution of Electrical Engineers lsymons@iee.org.uk

Takahashi, Yuzo, Professor Department of Electrical Engineering, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology yuzotkha@cc.tuat.ac.jp

Tanaka, Kuniaki, Professor of Electronics & Mechanical Engineering Department, Chiba University Chiba, Japan tanaka@cute.te.chiba-u.ac.jp

Invited Papers

Commemorative Session

Introduction, Read

Secondary Session

Introduction of Technology Transfer Session, Nebeker

Historical Study of Technology Transfer, Arakawa

History of Technology and the Changing Era, Okita

The Immigrant "Engineer" as a Means of Technology Transfer, Geselowitz

Technology Transfer-History of Electrical Engineering in Korea, Nam

Technology Transfer: The IBM System/360 Case, Pugh

Why do Oral History, Nebeker

Workshop (Papers and Presentations)

Biographical Sources, Nebeker

Biographical Sources of Engineers in Japan, Takahaski

Early History of Electrical Engineering in Korea, Nam

First Electric Power Historical Museum Project in Japan, Hohki

Historical Activities of the IEEE, Geselowitz

History Center Web Activities, Geselowitz

IEE Archives, Electronic Database, Symons

IEE Archives, Manuscripts, and Rare Book Collection, Symons

IEE Historical Activities, Symons

IEEE Archives, Nebeker

IEEE Milestones Program, Read

IEEE Power Engineering Society History Committee Activities, Liu

Status Report from IEEJ - Activities after Maui-I -, Suzuki

A Survey Of Museums With Historical Electrical Collections, Geselowitz

What Are Excellent Scientists and Engineers Really Like? The views of fifty Japanese researchers who became prominent after World War II?, Nagata

Declarations

Singapore Declaration

Maui Declaration